Council (Annual Meeting) 9 May 2012



30 April 2012

To the Members of the Borough Council

You are summoned to attend the Annual Meeting of the Eastbourne Borough Council to be held at the Town Hall, Grove Road, Eastbourne, on Wednesday 9 May 2012 at 6.00pm to transact the following business:

Agenda

- 1. Election of Mayor.
- 2. Minutes of the special meeting held on 29 March 2012 (pages 299 to 301) (previously circulated).
- 3. Notification of apologies for absence.
- 4. Appointment of Deputy Mayor.
- 5. Investiture of Mayoress.
- **6. Mayor's Chaplain** Notification of appointment.
- 7. Resignation of Councillor. Chief Executive to report the resignation on 24 April 2012 of Nigel Goodyear as a Councillor. Councillor Goodyear was first elected on 3 May 2007 for the Meads ward. The by-election in Meads ward will be held on 31 May 2012.

8. Executive arrangements.

(Note: The election of Leader of the Council took place at the last Annual Meeting (25 May 2011). The Leader was appointed to a 4-year term of office in accordance with the provisions of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007.)

Leader of the Council to report:

(a) Any changes in respect to the names of those Councillors serving on the Cabinet and the Councillor appointed as Deputy Leader of the Council (and Deputy Chairman of the Cabinet) and the respective areas of responsibility for each member of the Cabinet.

(b) That the terms of reference and constitution of the Cabinet be as set out in the Council's Constitution.

(c) That delegations to individual Cabinet members in respect of executive functions have not been made at this time.

9. Establishment of Council committees, appointment of chairmen, deputy chairmen and members to serve on Council committees, appointment of chairman and non-executive directors on boards and other appointments.

(1) To agree the proposed number and allocation of seats, receive nominations and vote thereon. *Please see reports 9(a) and 9(b) referred to below*

Where a nomination is shown as "to be advised", these nominations will be circulated in a supplementary paper to be put round the table at the meeting.

(2) To re-appoint the current independent members of the Standards Committee: Mr John Vesely (as Chairman), Mr Trevor Elliott and Mr Anthony Meier for the period up until 30 June 2012.

(3) To confirm the continuation of the following bodies with terms of reference as set out in the Council's Constitution that have a fixed membership or to which members are appointed by the Chief Executive, Deputy Chief Executive or relevant Head of Service as the need arises:

Equality Steering Group Council Panels Recruitment Panels Task Groups Project Boards Independent Remuneration Panel

(a) Political balance and allocation of seats. Report of Local Democracy Manager - Attachment 09a.

(b) Nominations from Group Leaders - Attachment 09b.

10. Programme of meetings for 2012/13 – Attachment 10.

The calendar was last approved by Council on 16 November 2011. It is subject to the following changes:

Scrutiny: 6 June (in place of 2 July)

Cabinet: Special meetings for joint waste contract on 14 May 2012 (at 7pm) and 5 October 2012 (at 4pm).

Audit and Governance Committee: See separate report on agenda for today's ordinary meeting of the Council. It is proposed the new committee will replace the current Audit and Standards Committees as from 1 July 2012.

Standards Committee: no dates listed as it proposed that the committee will disband on 30 June 2012.

Audit Committee: Meets only on 27 June (remaining meeting dates allotted to the proposed new Audit and Governance Committee).

11. Delegation of non-executive functions.

Council to approve the delegation of non-executive functions, including terms of reference, to Committees, Sub-Committees, other Council bodies as set out in the relevant sections of the Council's Constitution.

12. Scheme of delegations to officers and proper officer list

Council to approve the scheme of delegations to officers and proper officer list as set out in the relevant sections of the Council's Constitution.

13. Appointments to outside and other bodies. To receive nominations from Group Leaders and vote thereon - Attachment 13.

Robert Cottrill Chief Executive

(der\P:\council\12.05.09\agenda

Please note that at the conclusion of the Annual Meeting the Mayor and Members of the Council are asked to assemble on the Town Hall steps for their photograph to be taken.